How can I erase and re-import my data?

To remove data in your ChartMogul account so it is no longer used to generate subscriptions and calculate metrics (such as sample data), delete its source.

If you'd like ChartMogul to re-import up-to-date data from your billing system, re-sync your source.

Here's what we cover in this article:

Erasing data

This action is permanent and cannot be undone.

To fully erase data from ChartMogul, delete your source. All data from this source will be immediately and irrevocably removed from ChartMogul, including:

  • Customers, plans, and invoices
  • Custom attributes and tags
  • Merged customers and manual data edits

Here’s how to erase data:

  1. Within ChartMogul, navigate to Data & Config > Sources.
  2. Find the source in the list and click the Settings  icon.
  3. Click Delete This Source.

Re-importing your data

To re-import data, follow the instructions for importing subscription data.

Manually re-syncing data

Re-syncing may remove data added manually in ChartMogul such as connected subscriptions, edited MRR, or merged customers.

Here’s how re-syncing affects manually added data depending on the billing system:

Billing systems Connected subscriptions Edited MRR Merged customers
App Store Connect, Braintree, Chargebee (latest version), PayPal, Recurly, and Stripe Not affected Not affected Not affected
Chargebee (previous version), GoCardless, and Google Play Removed Not affected Not affected
Integrations maintained by SaaSync (such as Maxio (Chargify), Paddle, or Xero) Removed after re-syncing a source; not affected by re-syncing a customer Removed after re-syncing a source; not affected by re-syncing a customer Removed after re-syncing a source; not affected by re-syncing a customer

For more information, check your billing system’s integration guide or contact support.

ChartMogul allows you to re-sync a customer record or all data in a source.

If a customer does not have up-to-date information in ChartMogul (such as a missing invoice), update their record by re-syncing data. Learn more.

Re-sync your source to have ChartMogul re-import up-to-date data from your billing system. If your source does not have the option to re-sync data, you will need to delete your source and re-import your data.

Here’s how to manually re-sync data when needed:

  1. Within ChartMogul, navigate to Data & Config > Sources.
  2. Find your source and click the Settings  icon.
  3. Click Re-Sync Data.

ChartMogul will start re-importing your data and let you know where it’s at with a progress bar.

If you need to re-sync a source that doesn’t have the re-sync option, please contact support so we can process your data for you.

Was this article helpful?

We’re sorry to hear that. Would you like to share more feedback?


Thanks for your feedback!