User Roles & Permissions

ChartMogul offers five user roles: Lite, Read-only, Staff, Admin, and Owner. Here’s an overview of each role:

  • Lite users have access to view all charts and chart data and can create saved charts for personal use. They cannot see any personally identifiable customer information or export any data.
  • Read-only users can export data to CSV and customize their own account. This role is for anyone at your organization who you want to be able to view metrics and customer information.
  • Staff can make account changes that impact other users, including creating saved charts for the entire team, creating read & write API keys, viewing and managing plans, and adding, editing, and deleting customers. This role is for anyone who needs to customize ChartMogul for your entire organization or manage sales activities using ChartMogul CRM.
  • Admins can import billing data, make all account changes, as well as add or update other users. This role is for anyone at your organization who you want to be able to make all account changes and updates (except for account billing details and history) or manage sales activities using ChartMogul CRM.
  • Owners are the only users who can access account billing details and history.

Watch a video about adding users in ChartMogul:

Here’s what we cover in this article:

Subscription analytics permissions

Reports

Lite

Read-only

Staff

Admin

Owner

View charts and chart data (except Revenue Recognition and CRM reports) Included Included Included Included Included
View Revenue Recognition   Included Included Included Included
View benchmarks Included Included Included Included Included
Export chart data and activities to CSV   Included Included Included Included
View segments, custom regions, and plan groups Included Included Included Included Included
Create, edit and delete segments, custom regions, and plan groups     Included Included Included
Customize the Dashboard     Included Included Included
View saved charts Included Included Included Included Included
Create saved charts for personal use Included Included Included Included Included
Create saved charts for the entire team     Included Included Included
Delete saved charts     Included Included Included
View targets Included Included Included Included Included
Create and delete targets       Included Included
Filter using standard attributes Included Included Included Included Included
Filter using custom attributes Only by using the exact attribute value Included Included Included Included
View maps Included Included Included Included Included
View cohorts Included Included Included Included Included
Customers and Saved Lists

Lite

Read-only

Staff

Admin

Owner

View personally identifiable customer information   Included Included Included Included
Add, edit, and delete customers     Included Included Included
Bulk edit customers     Included Included Included
View opportunities   Included Included Included Included
View contacts   Included Included Included Included
Add, edit, and delete contacts     Included Included Included
View custom attributes, tags and notes   Included Included Included Included
Create and update custom attributes, tags and notes     Included Included Included
View emails and drafts   Included Included Included Included
Delete email drafts       Included Included
Re-sync customers     Included Included Included
Merge customers     Included Included Included
Add manual customers and subscriptions     Included Included Included
Create and update custom attributes, tags and notes     Included Included Included
Manually adjust MRR     Included Included Included
Connect subscriptions     Included Included Included
View customer lists   Included Included Included Included
Create and delete saved lists for personal use   Included Included Included Included
Create and delete saved lists for the entire team     Included Included Included
Export customers   Included Included Included Included
Export subscriptions   Included Included Included Included
Data & Config

Lite

Read-only

Staff

Admin

Owner

Access Data & Config   Included Included Included Included
View sources   Included Included Included Included
Add and manage sources       Included Included
Edit source settings and re-sync data     Included Included Included
View, import and edit subscription billing data such as customers, invoices, and transactions     Included Included Included
View destinations   Included Included Included Included
Add and manage destinations     Included Included Included
View, add, and manage plans (including manual plans)     Included Included Included
Manage custom attributes for customers and contacts     Included Included Included
Manage tags     Included Included Included
View data settings   Included Included Included Included
Update data settings       Included Included
Account

Lite

Read-only

Staff

Admin

Owner

View in-app notifications   Included Included Included Included
Configure and receive email notifications   Included Included Included Included
Add and manage users in ChartMogul       Included Included
Set up two-factor authentication (2FA)       Included Included
Access account billing         Included
Create read-only API keys   Included Included Included Included
Create read & write API keys     Included Included Included
Access API Access Manager       Included Included

CRM permissions

You’ll need to have a seat to access ChartMogul CRM features. ChartMogul allows CRM seats to be assigned to Owner, Admin, or Staff users. Learn more about managing CRM seats.

ChartMogul CRM

Staff

Admin

Owner

Purchase CRM seats     Included
Manage CRM seats   Included Included
Connect an email account Included Included Included
Create an email signature Included Included Included
Send emails Included Included Included
Create and edit email templates Included Included Included
Add and remove blocklist items   Included Included
Add, edit, and delete sales pipelines   Included Included
Create, edit, and delete opportunities Included Included Included
View, create, save, and edit opportunity lists Included Included Included
Manage custom attributes for opportunities   Included Included
Create and manage tasks Included Included Included
Be assigned as a customer owner Included Included Included
Be assigned as an opportunity owner Included Included Included
Log calls in customer records Included Included Included
View CRM reports Included Included Included

Managing Users

Only Admins and Owners can add, update, and deactivate users. It’s best practice to grant Admin privileges to more than one ChartMogul user.

View and manage users by navigating to Admin > Users.

There, you’ll find the Users table with the following details:

  • Name — The user’s name.
  • Email — The user’s account email address.
  • User Role — The user’s role.
  • 2FA — The user’s two-factor authentication status, either On or Off. Learn more about two-factor authentication.
  • CRM Seat — The user’s seat status, either On or Off. Learn more about managing CRM seats.

Screenshot of the Users page with the Active tab open.

Adding

To add a user, select Invite Users. Next, enter the user's name and email address, select a role, and click SEND INVITES.

Updating

Downgrading a user’s role may impact their API keys. Read more.

To update a user's role or notification settings, select the user you would like to update, and select the user's new role. Lastly, click UPDATE.

Deactivating

To deactivate a user, click the Deactivate User   icon. Click OK to confirm the deactivation.

Screenshot highlighting the location of the user deactivation icon.

ChartMogul adds the user to the Deactivated tab and logs them out immediately.

Screenshot of the Users page with the Deactivated tab open.

ChartMogul retains the following data:

ChartMogul makes the following changes when a user is deactivated:

To anonymize deactivated users in your ChartMogul account, locate the user in the Deactivated table. Select the user to edit their details. Update the user’s name and email, and click Update.

Reactivating

When a user is reactivated, ChartMogul does not restore their API keys, notification settings, personal saved charts, customer lists, or opportunity lists. Learn more.

To reactivate a user, navigate to the Deactivated tab and click Reactivate. Click OK to confirm the reactivation.

Screenshot the Deactivated tab highlighting the location of the Reactivate option.

ChartMogul will send an email inviting the user to join your company’s account.

Changing the ownership of your ChartMogul account

Owners can transfer ownership of the account to any other Admin by navigating to Admin and clicking Make Owner in the Users table.

Was this article helpful?

We’re sorry to hear that. Would you like to share more feedback?


Thanks for your feedback!