Splitting subscribers per app for App Store Connect

ChartMogul allows you to "split" subscribers which means to create separate, unique customer records in ChartMogul when they’ve subscribed to more than one app from App Store. This is useful for companies that publish multiple apps and want to break down their subscription metrics such as customer churn rate or customer lifetime value (LTV).

Let's have a closer look

First, it’s important to remember how ChartMogul works out-of-the-box. When a customer has multiple active subscriptions and cancels one of these subscriptions, ChartMogul classifies the lost MRR as contraction (rather than churn). Learn more about customer lifecycles in ChartMogul.

Here’s how the customer typically appears in ChartMogul, regardless of how many apps they’ve subscribed to. All of the customer's subscriptions appear under a single entry.

screenshot_1.png

Now, imagine you're a company that publishes multiple apps — App A and App B — and you have a customer who has subscribed to both. The customer then decides to cancel their subscription to App A, and you would like ChartMogul to classify the cancellation as churn (instead of contraction).

ChartMogul makes it possible to do this with the Split subscribers per app setting. As mentioned above, when this setting is enabled, ChartMogul creates separate, unique customer entries — one for each app the customer has subscribed to.

Here’s what this looks like:

screenshot_2.png

Note: in order to create unique customer entries in ChartMogul, we append the AppAppleID to the customer external id.

Enabling Splitting Subscribers

Splitting subscribers per app is not activated by default when you create a new App Store Connect data source, however enabling it is easy. Here’s how:

  1. Click the data platform icon in the left menu
  2. Select App Store Connect from the Data Source list and click the gear iconApp_Store_Connect_DS.png
  3. Under Data import options, check Split subscribers per appScreenshot_2020-09-10_at_1.18.11_PM.png
  4. Click Re-sync Data to apply the changes

After changing the option, you need to re-sync your App Store Connect data source for the changes to take effect.

What you need to know: Switching this option ON or OFF will require a re-sync of the data source. Any edits made to the customers and subscriptions will be removed (i.e. MRR edits, merged customers, custom attributes, connect subscriptions). The reason is because we will need to create a new set of customers from your App Store Connect data and the only way to do this is by importing everything from scratch.
Was this article helpful?