The Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) chart reports your normalized (amortized) monthly subscription revenue.
You can view this metric at https://app.chartmogul.com/#/reports/charts/mrr.
How is it calculated?
With monthly plans, the MRR is simply the price paid each month for the subscription. If customers are paying for more than one month upfront (e.g. 12 months), ChartMogul simply divides the amount paid for the subscription by the number of months in the subscription period.
- One-time payments and metered charges are excluded.
- Discounts/Coupons are deducted prior to calculation.
- Credit card and billing system transaction fees are not deducted by default. However, you can have your transaction fees deducted from both your MRR and cash flow metrics by adjusting your transaction fee handling setting found on the Data source setup page.
- Any foreign-currency subscriptions are converted into your primary currency.
- Refunds are tracked but do not, by themselves, impact MRR.
If you had 5 customers all paying $5 per month, your MRR would be $25. If you were to acquire two more customers on a more expensive plan of $30 per month, your MRR would increase to $85.
What analysis can be gained?
MRR is probably the most important metric that a subscription business needs to calculate, as it reports the expected monthly revenue. You can view the MRR contributed by specific groups with segmentation. For example, you can view your MRR segmented by the marketing campaign.