User Roles & Permissions

On November 15, 2022, we updated user roles and permissions in ChartMogul:

  • We introduced three new roles: Lite, Read-only, and Staff.
  • On December 15, 2022, we removed the Team Member role. Users who had this role were updated to Read-only.

ChartMogul offers five user roles: Lite, Read-only, Staff, Admin, and Owner. Here’s an overview of each role:

  • Lite users have access to view all charts and chart data and can create saved charts for personal use. They cannot see any personally identifiable customer information or export any data.
  • Read-only users can export data to CSV and customize their own account. This role is for anyone at your organization who you want to be able to view metrics and customer information.
  • Staff can make account changes that impact other users, including creating saved charts for the entire team, creating read & write API keys, viewing and managing plans, and adding, editing, and deleting customers. This role is for anyone who needs to customize ChartMogul for your entire organization.
  • Admins can import billing data, make all account changes, as well as add or update other users. This role is for anyone at your organization who you want to be able to make all account changes and updates except for account billing details and history.
  • Owners are the only users who can access account billing details and history.
Reports

Lite

Read-only

Staff

Admin

Owner

View charts and chart data (except Revenue Recognition) Included Included Included Included Included
View Revenue Recognition   Included Included Included Included
View forecasts Included Included Included Included Included
Export chart data and activities to CSV   Included Included Included Included
View segments, custom regions, and plan groups Included Included Included Included Included
Create, edit and delete segments, custom regions, and plan groups     Included Included Included
Customize the Dashboard     Included Included Included
View saved charts Included Included Included Included Included
Create saved charts for personal use Included Included Included Included Included
Create saved charts for the entire team     Included Included Included
Delete saved charts     Included Included Included
View targets Included Included Included Included Included
Create and delete targets       Included Included
Filter using standard attributes Included Included Included Included Included
Filter using custom attributes Only by using the exact attribute value Included Included Included Included
View maps Included Included Included Included Included
View cohorts Included Included Included Included Included
Customers and Saved Lists

Lite

Read-only

Staff

Admin

Owner

View personally identifiable customer information   Included Included Included Included
Add new customers     Included Included Included
Edit customer details     Included Included Included
Delete customers     Included Included Included
Merge customers     Included Included Included
Add manual subscriptions     Included Included Included
Create and update custom attributes, tags and notes     Included Included Included
Manually adjust MRR     Included Included Included
Connect subscriptions     Included Included Included
View customer lists   Included Included Included Included
Create and delete saved lists for personal use   Included Included Included Included
Create and delete saved lists for the entire team     Included Included Included
Export customers   Included Included Included Included
Export subscriptions   Included Included Included Included
Data Platform

Lite

Read-only

Staff

Admin

Owner

Access Data Platform   Included Included Included Included
View sources   Included Included Included Included
Add and manage sources       Included Included
Edit source settings and re-sync data     Included Included Included
View, import and edit subscription billing data such as customers, invoices, and transactions       Included Included
View destinations   Included Included Included Included
Add and manage destinations     Included Included Included
View, add, and manage plans     Included Included Included
Manage custom attributes     Included Included Included
Manage tags     Included Included Included
View data settings   Included Included Included Included
Update data settings       Included Included
Account

Lite

Read-only

Staff

Admin

Owner

View in-app notifications   Included Included Included Included
Configure and receive email notifications   Included Included Included Included
Add and manage users in ChartMogul       Included Included
Access account billing         Included
Create read-only API keys   Included Included Included Included
Create read & write API keys     Included Included Included
Access API Access Manager       Included Included

Managing Users

Only Admins and Owners can add, update, and delete users.

Adding

To add a user, navigate to Profile > Admin > Users, then select Invite Users. Next, enter the user's name and email address, select a role, and click SEND INVITES.

Updating

Downgrading a user’s role may impact their API keys. Read more.

To update a user's role or notification settings, navigate to Profile > Admin > Users, select the user you would like to update, and select the user's new role. Lastly, click UPDATE.

Deleting

To delete a user, navigate to Profile > Admin > Users, then click DELETE in the row next to the user you would like to delete.

Changing the ownership of your ChartMogul account

Owners can transfer ownership of the account to any other Admin by navigating to Profile > Admin and clicking MAKE OWNER in the Users table.

Was this article helpful?

We’re sorry to hear that. Would you like to share more feedback?


Thanks for your feedback!