Chart: All Subscriber Churn Rate
This chart is available with Subscription Analytics. If you're new to ChartMogul, get to know how charts work.
We introduced this chart on October 2, 2025, and are gradually making it available to all customers. It’s part of an update that improves subscription and trial handling. Other changes include a new “trial” line item type, new filters and improvements to the Subscriptions and Subscription History tables on customer records.
All Subscriber Churn Rate is the percentage of free and paid subscribers who have canceled all (or their last remaining) active subscriptions.
Customers churn voluntarily when they cancel due to no longer needing your product or service (or not seeing its value) or, in the case of paid subscriptions, involuntarily due to the expiration of their credit card or a failed transaction.
Use Paid Subscriber Churn Rate to track the loss of customers with paid subscriptions only.
TL;DR
All Subscriber Churn Rate tracks the loss of free and paid subscribers over time.
Chart Notes
- Get to know how charts work in ChartMogul.
- Familiarize yourself with the churn recognition setting in ChartMogul and make sure it’s configured to support your needs.
- Review how ChartMogul handles contraction and churn in the lifecycle of a subscription.
- This chart tracks the number of free and paid subscribers whose status has changed to Cancelled. Customers who have multiple subscriptions and cancel one, but not all of their subscriptions, are still classified as Active and, therefore, their cancellations are classified as Contraction. Learn more about customer statuses.
Calculation
On August 15, 2022 we retired the Churn Rate Formula setting. Accounts opened prior to this date that had selected the Shopify formula can continue to configure this setting. All other accounts, including new accounts opened on or after August 15, 2022 use the standard formula.
Standard Formula (B2B)
Formula
Example
At the start of the month, you have 100 customers. During the month, 12 customers churn. Of those who churn, one reactivates, and one had joined during the period. Your customer churn rate is 10%: (12 − 2) / 100.
Shopify Formula (B2C)
Formula
Example
At the start of Monday, you have 100 active customers. That day, you lose five customers. The next day, you gain ten but lose five customers, leaving you with 100 customers at the end of Tuesday. ChartMogul excludes the new customers gained on Tuesday from the calculation and produces a customer count of 90.
The customer churn rate for this period (Monday – Tuesday) is the sum of each day’s churn: 10.26%:
- Monday’s customer churn rate: (100 − 95) ÷ 100 = 5%
- Tuesday’s customer churn rate: (95 − 90) ÷ 95 = 5.26%
Chart Data
The Chart Data table for Customer Churn Rate works differently from other charts. It provides the following breakdown:
- Starting Customers — The number of free and paid subscribers who were active at the start of the report interval.
- Churned Subscribers — The number of free and paid subscribers who churned during the report interval and were still canceled at the end of the period.
- Subscribed & Churned — The number of free and paid subscribers who subscribed and churned within the report interval. This is shown for informational purposes only, as it doesn’t impact the metric.
- Churned & Reactivated — The number of free and paid subscribers who churned and reactivated within the report interval. This is shown for informational purposes only, as it doesn’t impact the metric.
- Customer Churn Rate — The percentage of free and paid subscribers who have canceled all of their subscriptions in the report interval.
- Change — The increase or decrease in Customer Churn Rate from the previous report interval, shown as a percentage.
Next steps
- Learn more about our other churn rate charts.
- See which customers are scheduled to churn with CMRR.
- Read more on our blog: What Is a Good Customer Churn Rate?